FJH Logo
Teaching the World to Play


Petite Symphony
Brian Balmages
Grade 4

This medium-length four-movement work is structured in the same form as a traditional symphony (though much shorter) and corresponds with specific elements. , the first movement has a minimalistic quality to it and the entire movement develops around a four-note motif. The second movement, , is very impressionistic and describes a quiet body of water with a glass-like surface. The third movement, , is a light and playful scherzo that pays homage to Holst’s Mercury from The Planets. The final movement, , is aggressive and relentless as dissonance and rhythm become the focus before a wildly powerful fugue ensues. Dramatic and engaging!

Audio Only:
Item No.
Full Set: B1437 95.00
Score Only: B1437S 16.00