> Composers & Writers > Deborah Baker Monday

View Works For:
String Orchestra

Deborah Baker Monday

Deborah Baker Monday currently teaches in the Logan City School District Orchestra Program in Logan, Utah. She is a cello/bass specialist who works with 4th through 8th grade students in several schools. Ms. Monday received her B.M.E. from Florida State University with an emphasis in strings and a M.M. in composition from the University of Alabama. She began working on a D.M.A. at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge while teaching string classes at the 4th through 12th grade levels.

Ms. Monday is an active bass performer and private teacher. She has served as an adjunct bass instructor at Utah State University for several years, has been on the faculty of the Utah ASTA with NSOA Bass Fest , and has served as a clinician at the Midwest Clinic, ASTA with NSOA National Conference, and various state music educators conventions throughout the country. In 1999, she was named the Utah ASTA with NSOA Elementary Teacher of the Year and she also received the award for "Superior Accomplishment" at the 2003 Utah Music Educators Association Conference acknowledging her exceptional contributions to educational music for young string players. Ms. Monday was declared winner of the 2006 Utah ASTA Composition Competition for her composition Chant-Formations. She continues to conduct and present sessions promoting solid string teaching through well balanced string orchestra compositions and arrangements.

Ms. Monday has many publications to her credit including three collections co-authored with Janice L. McAllister, Strings Extraordinaire!, Holidays Extraordinaire!,and More Strings Extraordinaire! She is also co-author with Robert S. Frost of Artistry in Ensembles. She and her husband, Bill, maintain busy teaching schedules and a bustling household with their four children.

Contact this Composer by Email

Music for String Orchestra

Grade 1


Boogie Blues Chimes and Bells
Fiddlin' with the Classics Good Kings Marching!

The Huron Carol

La Cavaleria de Napoles 
There Lived a King  

Grade 2

Allegro Presto Dueling French Dances
Frontier Phantoms Two Italian Dances
Ukrainian Dance  

Grade 3

Orient et Occident  


Grade 4

Allegro moderato from
Symphony No. 3
Second Suite


List all FJH composers


Search Our Site | Find a Dealer | Catalog Listing
Piano Music | Guitar Music | Concert Band Music
Jazz Ensemble Music | Orchestra Music | Solo & Ensemble Music
Canzonique Music | Percussion Music | Contact Us
Conventions & Workshops | Permission Requests | About Us

Copyright © The FJH Music Company Inc. All rights reserved.