FJH Logo
Teaching the World to Play!
Andrey Komanetsky

Andrey Komanetsky

Born in Moscow, Russia, Andrey Komanetsky received his bachelor’s degree in piano performance (studying with Nina Svetlanova) and his master’s degree in composition (studying with Nils Vigeland) from Manhattan School of Music.

Mr. Komanetsky was the first prize winner of the 2005 International Composition Competition for Piano Trio (Austria). His winning work Affinity to Movement was designated as the compulsory piece for the piano trio category of the 6th International Competition Franz Schubert und die Musik der Moderne (Austria). It was performed in the Kammermusiksaal and the Stefaniensaal at the Graz Convention Center in Austria in February 2006. The work received its world premiere in the Embassy of Japan in Belgium in January 2006.

Mr. Komanetsky was also a prizewinner in the 2001 Discover America Competition for New American Chamber Works (Chicago), with his Twelve Preludes for Piano Trio premiered by the Chicago Ensemble. His other compositions have been performed in Asia, Europe, and the United States.

MTNA has hailed Mr. Komanetsky’s pedagogic compositions as “...substantive and realistic challenges that promote musical and technical growth...evoke some of the most effective pedagogical works of Bartok and Kabalevsky...”

Mr. Komanetsky is an active pianist, performing frequently in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. He was artistic director and pianist-in-residence for the Telesis Contemporary Ensemble (NYC) from 2000–2002. Currently, he is the music director, organist, and choir director at St. John’s Catholic Church in the Bronx.

Since 2000, Mr. Komanetsky has been on the music faculty of Amadeus Conservatory in Chappaqua, New York, teaching undergraduate courses in fundamental music theory, ear-training, orchestration, composition, and piano.

Explore Piano Publications by Andrey Komanetsky

Musical Treasures, Volume 1IntermediateThe FJH Contemporary Keyboard EditionsSoloJ1022
Musical Treasures, Volume 2IntermediateThe FJH Contemporary Keyboard EditionsSoloJ1027
In the Romantic StyleIntermediateComposers In FocusSoloFJH1735
Seven Sonatinas in the Classical StyleEarly IntermediateComposers In FocusSoloFJH2085